Week 2…UP…LAUGH with DORAZ*


Read until the end…..you’ll laugh….

This two-letter word in English has more meanings than any
other two-letter word, and that word
is ‘UP.’ It is listed in the
dictionary as an [adv], [prep], [adj], [n] or [v].

It’s
easy to understand UP, meaning toward the sky
or at the top of the list, but when we awaken in the morning, why do we
wake UP?

At a meeting, why does a topic come UP? Why do
we speak UP, and why are the
officers UP for
election and why is it UP to the secretary to
write UP a
report? We call UP our friends,
brighten UP a room, polish UP the
silver, warm UP the leftovers and clean UP the kitchen. We
lock UP the house and
fix UP the old
car.

At other times this little word has real special
meaning. People stir UP trouble,
line UP for
tickets, work UP an appetite, and think UP excuses.

To be dressed is one
thing but to be dressed UP is
special.

And this UP is confusing: A
drain must be opened UP because it is stopped UP.

We
open UP a store in the morning but we close it UP at
night. We seem to be pretty mixed
UP about UP !

To be
knowledgeable about the proper uses of UP, look UP the word UP in the dictionary.. In a desk-sized
dictionary, it takes UP almost 1/4 of the page and can add UP to about
thirty definitions

If you are UP to it, you might try building UP a list of the many ways UP is used. It will take UP a lot of your time, but if you don’t give UP, you may
wind UP with a hundred or
more.

When it threatens to rain, we say it is
clouding UP . When the sun comes out
we say it is clearing UP. When it rains, it
soaks UP the
earth. When it does not rain for awhile, things dry UP. One could go on & on, but I’ll wrap
it UP, for now ……..my time is UP !

Oh…one more thing:
What is the first thing you
do in the morning & the last thing you do at
night?

U
P …

Don’t goof UP. Send this on to everyone you
look UP in your address
book..

Now
I’ll shut UP

THANKS TO :KRISTI KEYPERS


Believe in Yourself;

Luisa Doraz

72 Responses

  1. I’m still laughing!!

    But better go for now because you know I have to get UP in the morning and go see someone special πŸ™‚ I hope he is UP to seeing his new Grandparents.

    Talk Soon πŸ™‚

  2. Ha, thanks for reminding me that I’ll need to wake up sooner than I want to tomorrow morning after all of this late night blogging.

  3. You know how to UP my Monday…and the rest of my week!! I laughed so much!! Thanks for sharing my darling friend!!!! Mwah xxx

  4. Keep up the good work. That’s cool.

  5. he he he he πŸ˜€
    good job Doraz.

  6. My stomach is paining. Loved it. πŸ™‚

  7. lol πŸ˜€

  8. now i have to get UP and run to the newspaper to pee before mumster keeels moi for wetting the floor….

    wonderful monday ms D
    chikisses
    coco

  9. Oh, yes: UP, UP, UP . . . Get Up, Clean UP, go UP to the store . . . getting on with the day with a smile thanks to you, Doraz. πŸ™‚ Have a good one . . .

  10. Good morning Doraz hope your week is well. Time for me to get up and get more coffee so I can p later. :+)

  11. Darned that Daniel Webster and his words that mean multiple things!

    Have a happy Monday dear. I’m off to Library soon for the duration.

  12. First I am sorry for my absence but things getting hectic nowadays…but you are still at it making us all laugh and smile…thanks and have a wonderful and joyous week πŸ™‚

  13. lol…yes UP…thanks for cheering UP the day doraz…hope you have a great week.

  14. hahahhaha… an awesome one!
    I will not think it UP, and then maybe it will sit well UP in my brain as well πŸ™‚
    Good info there, Doraz…. As usual, with your witty posts, you really make us think!!!
    Keep it UP, girl!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Have a FAB summer! (many hugs and kisses)

  15. time is up, which is the end,
    u
    p,
    very witty,

    your joke rocks!
    πŸ˜‰

  16. That was just great…I am so happy with ‘up’ that I’m completely choked up and can say another word….to tell you the truth you just crack me up! πŸ˜‰

  17. How crazy is this?! I’ve never really thought about it.

  18. Up, up and away in my beautiful, my beautiful blog cocoon.

    I was wondering what’s been up with you lately and now I know, because in my systematic blog commenting scheme — your number was up.

    And now I’m feeling even more up that before I landed here. Ahhh, thanks!!

    xo

  19. IT IS UP TO US TO DECIDE WHICH WAY TO USE THIS WORD UP.
    I SEE THAT YOU ARE UP AND ABOUT AGAIN AFTER A BRIEF LAY OFF

    • LVISS…. I have posted this week and I have commented on other blogs. I always answer all comments…daily, I am sooo happy to see you. Viola lost her husband. I felt she could use our support, so I did a special post. Have a great week.

  20. lol. i almost choked UP as i lapped these definitions UP.
    but now my eyes are playing UP. and these computer keys as i type lower case and UPper case are acting UP.
    .
    LOL.
    Be good

  21. Think I missed this..great post, very interesting! of course in the USA you ‘wash up’ meaning wash your hands? Over here we mean wash the dishes! lol

  22. Well, Luisa you certainly brightened UP my birthday! Things are looking UP! I guess it’s Up to us to make the most of Uplifting thoughts from Uproarious friends like you! Thanks for sharing! Up, Up, Up, and Away! I am sUPerwoman! Heartspell

    • HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY . I hope you had many smiles and much laughter with your friends and family. Do you feel older???? Hope you have an amazing week. Be sure to make the world smile around you.

      • I had a great day and don’t feel older and loved the Aliens…they are my kindred spirits! Happy week to you as well. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Such good advice…thanks for that. Heartspell

        • I do miss ya…lots. I hope you are helping to hold down the fort around here. lol πŸ™‚ Be sure to stay out of trouble…and smile. No one will suspect you. lol πŸ™‚ Have a great rest of the week. πŸ™‚

  23. awe thats cute your very kind xxxx

  24. Word up sista! *lol* πŸ˜€

  25. It’s up to me now to remember your post and laugh ! LOL !
    I’m down with some problems , catch you later!

  26. Looks like you summed it all UP in one post. Try reading it through again & substitute DOWN for all the UPs. It just ain’t the same. Or am I the only one silly enough to even think down such an idea. Thanks for cheering me down with this post. Keep down the good work πŸ˜€

  27. Well, although I cannot add anything funny to this long list of comments, I think I’ll be smiling about this for a while!

    Thanks for the post!

    Chloe πŸ˜€ xx

    • Chloe…hope you are having a great week. It is almost Friday. πŸ™‚ Any plans for the weekend? πŸ™‚

      • Ha ha – is it too late to respond to this message? I’ve been playing hide and seek with mice recently and so have gotten behind with my blogging….but I’m back now πŸ˜€

        The particular weekend you were referring to was the weekend I moved to my new ‘mouse infested’ flat! So it was busy, busy!!!

        How are you my friend? Hope the summer is going GREAT for you!!!

        Chloe xx

  28. Where are you miss luisa? Well “cheer up” during the “upcoming” “upper weeekend” with “upfront” funny posts. πŸ™‚

  29. Very, very good Doraz! πŸ™„

  30. AND I really love your site! 8)

  31. ha ha.. Doraz.. what you’ve posted up here is really funny..!! Have a fabulous week ahead..!! πŸ™‚

  32. fantastic. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

