Something to smile about*

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I have had to take a break to sit down and do some “soul searching.” I am one of those people who does not take life for granted. I appreciate and respect every moment I breathe.Over the years, I have shared in many wonderful moments with many cherished individuals. I consider the greatest gift we can give is the gift of our “time.” You have read that my good friend/surrogate dad , Rod is ill.
He and I have always maintained that we look much prettier with SMILES on our faces instead of frowns. So, for Rod….I am going to list some things in my life that I SMILE about…daily!

1. People who call me at 5:00 am and ask me, “Are you awake?”
2. One of my sons who “pretends” to be listening to me and answers “yes” to every question…then looks at me later in the day and asks, “Why are you doing that?”
3. My other son, who has been driving for a year but feels he is a better driver than I am.
4. My husband, who looks at me strangely when I am ready to leave the house and asks, “Are you going to wear that?”
5. My family, who consume all the food that took me an hour to make…in less than 10 minutes!

I will stop at 5, because my list is tooo long! I SMILE AT LIFE! What makes you smile often?

Believe in Yourself;

Luisa Doraz

35 Responses

  1. Ahh, nice list and I can’t relate. Especially to being the recipient of the “are you wearing that” comment when leaving the house.

  2. Well I smile when I read your posts : ) You smile when you get call at 5am ?? I won’t smile on that ! I would smile on all the rest of the points but leaving the first one !

    The Lifestyle Test
    How do you live your life?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/lifestyle-test/lifestyle-test_instructions.asp

  3. Oh yes the pic is very cute !

  4. TQ for this post as we are smiling with you but with a heavy heart as our friend Maxdog in South Africa is gravely ill…….

    chikisses
    coco

  5. This is a great post and the list is awesome… And your smile is filled with joy of a child, gosh you make me smile

  6. DESTRUCTION TAKES LESS TIME 10 MINUTES THAN CONSTRUCTION I HOUR
    LOOK AT HOW PEOPLE SUDDENLY AGE AND GO DOWN SLIDE IN HEALTH AND YET THEY SMILE ALBEIT FEEBLY.
    YOU HAVE A CRAZE FOR THE HATS .

  7. I would never call you at 5 am, yikes!

  8. I love your picture! You do look great with a smile on! πŸ™‚
    I will keep your good friend/surrogate dad, Rod, in my prayers.
    I love how we spend all that time cooking and they woof it down so quickly! It’s a good thing I like cooking or it might just bug me!

  9. it takes courage and attitude to be able to smile at yourself,
    I smile at your smiles, πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

  10. #1 reminded me of when I was in hospital once & the nurses would wake you to ask if you needed something to help you sleep, go figure…

  11. Makes me smile a simple flower.
    Makes me smile a friend who tells me:Have a nice day!
    Makes me smile a smile of a little baby.
    Makes me smile a old man who keeps the hand of his old wife on the street.
    Makes me smile the rainbow from the sky πŸ™‚

    Have a special day,my friend!

  12. Thanks for allowing me to take a break to think about the many things I can be grateful for.

    I am still alive.

  13. I hope Rod is feeling better. I know what you mean about cooking-my family eats it up so fast! Sometimes before I even join them:(

  14. “the greatest we can give is the gift of time” doraz, that is so beautifully put and so very true. why is it folks are so afraid to let go of their time anyway?

    taking time is good for all parties involved however, the one thing i’ve found to be true is that a person cannot afford to waste one minute spending time with those that make you miserable. what would be the point in that?

  15. My brother was like your son. You just didn’t talk to him when he was watching TV. He really couldn’t hear you.

    10mins? WOW!!!

    You make me smile. I love your zest for life. It is contagious!

  16. 5 things that make ME smile:
    1. My wee grandson.
    2. Positive comments at my work.
    3. Something I love to eat.
    4. A beautiful sunny day or starry night.
    5. Hearing that somebody who has been ill is better again.

    • A less serious list?

      1. My blog
      2. Other’s blogs
      3. Funny comments on my blog or that I leave for others
      4. Discovering a new fun blog
      5. WordPress blogs

  17. Your first item made me laugh – my sister has called me that early a few times. Generally she asks if I want to know what she dreamed and if I have the dream dictionary pulled up online. A couple times she said, “Guess where I’m calling from….the floor!”. She has some long pj pants she should really get rid of! πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

