EXPECTATIONS…LAUGH with DORAZ*

Reaching the end of a job interview, the Human Resources Person asked a young Engineer fresh out of MIT, “And what starting salary were you looking for?”

The Engineer said, “In the neighborhood of $125,000 a year, depending on the benefits package.”

The interviewer said, “Well, what would you say to a package of 5-weeks vacation, 14 paid holidays, full medical and dental, company matching retirement fund to 50% of salary, and a company car leased every 2 years–say, a red Corvette?”

The Engineer sat up straight, much energized, “Wow! Are you kidding?”

The interviewer replied, “Yeah, but you started it.”

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

In my house we have a lot of discussion about the future. I have two brainy kids that are going to make a mark in life, the only thing is….what will it be? You try to figure things out when you go to school and you think the answer is almost there…when WHAM…you are hit with something way out there! Then you have to sit back and try to work it all out AGAIN! One of my sons is working on 3 majors already. He is only in his third year of college. Does this mean he will come up with a fourth next year? My other son really wants to go into computer science. He hopes to get accepted into UCLA or Berkeley. He will be getting his AA degree in May 2010, and he is only 16 years old. So, what do you think? Do they APPEAR to have it all together? Will their future in academics prepare them to deal with people…say as crazy as…ME! I am working really hard in keeping them down to the ground! I want these guys to understand common sense! Most days, they do “seem: to get it, other days….well, I SCREAM! I see that a lot of the new generation of students are very determined and set. They have the attitude to succeed and they have it all “planned” out on their wipe boards! The only thing I see wrong with that picture is, “Life is not systematic and set, it just IS!” So, I believe a solid personal growth and a solid educational growth is the key. In my book, ATTITUDE rules. If you take on life with a “realistic” attitude, I believe….there will be no stopping you!

*
*
*
*
ANY EXPECTATIONS YOU WANT TO SHARE?

*
*

17 Responses

  1. My expectations pretty much amount to whatever I can get out of life without hurting myself. I work hard. Play hard. Live hard. Time will tell all. Good question to think over.

  2. This generation really has to understand life isn’t fair and not always what you expect it to be. I think being realistic and being flexible is key.

    And OH MY LORDY! You got some smart kids! My step dad and future hubby are both computer science majors. I find it fascinating.

    Way to go Mom!

  3. THERE IS TOO MUCH COMPETITION AND EVERY CHILD WANTS TO OUTSMART THE OTHER. FRANKLY SPEAKING MY GENERATION WAS ALMOST AMBITIONLESS . WE SWAM WIYTH THE TIDE. THIS GENERATION APPEARS TO BE TOO AMBITIOUS AND IN A HURRY . THEY GET DISAPPOINTED SOON. WE NEVER GOT DISAPPOINTED BECOZ WE NEVER HAD ANY SERIOUS APPOINTMENT WHAT DO YOU THINK?
    NOW TO THE FIRST ONE . A GUY TYPED “EXPECTED” IN THE SALARY COLUMN OF THE JOB APPLICATION

    • LOL Expected? Wow, “what” does that mean these days? I guess the more money, the better…right? LOL πŸ™‚ When my kids go looking for work, I do expect fireworks! πŸ™‚ LOL

  4. OKAY, so this is probably my generation, (kinda) I had my college degree in 2008, and I went out to the real world they call thinking I will succeed because I got good grades, I was a student leader and all, and WHAM BAM, people are doing their best to outdo others, they’re keeping the crab mentality alive and more, I was shocked, really shocked when the reality hit me, and then I realized, yeah, people my age and those youngsters got big dreams, too big that they sometimes forget about the harshness of the corporate world… that life is sometimes not fair and not what you always expect it to be like what angelia sims said…. but okay, it was painful you know, i came to the point seeing my dreams slowly falling apart because they’re too huge and I couldnt have them all at once just like how i planned them before… anyway, the bottom line is, i saw the difference between dreams and reality…. i learned and i’m now taking baby steps, “one step at a time”

    yaay, i talk too much.. haha

    • Thanks for sharing your thought with us. It does help to see that we are not alone in this world! We all seem to have to figure out stuff….alll the time! I wish I had a key to just shut it off! LOL πŸ™‚ You are determined. You are set. You will do great! πŸ™‚ Remember me when you become famous, OK? πŸ™‚

  5. creative thoughts,
    beautiful writing.

    we have to work smart, not work too hard to get burned.

    happy Saturday.

    • Hi jingle….sorry I am late with my reply! I was out shopping with my friends yesterday! They wore me out! πŸ™‚ Thanks for leaving such a nice comment. I appreciate it! Hope you are planning on having a fun week! πŸ™‚

  6. Now that sounds like a sharp job interviewer …

  7. Ah life, such an adventure. πŸ™‚

  8. My girls need to meet your boys for a motivational session… Would they consider a tutorial or podcast explaining how to get the motivation you need for success in life.

  9. lol yes we all have high expectations especially when we are young, sometimes they are thrown out of the window lol it depends, nice post x

Leave a Reply

