People and Privacy…My Observation 5/29*

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I was standing in line today to buy a hot dog and drink for my son at Costco when my cell phone rang. I, of course, was wearing my Bluetooth. In California, we have to drive with one, or else! So, it was my other brother who was telling me about my sick brother. Well, if you do not know this, it is extremely loud at Costco! So, I said loudly, ” What Mario? ” Well, the guy in front of me, who was an older gentleman, looked at me like he was really annoyed…unless his name was Mario and he thought I was talking to him! I just thought of that…anyways, I just smiled at him and continued talking. Well, he just frowned at me, and continued looking! Finally, I said to him, ” Excuse me, do you mind, I am trying to talk to my brother!” He just looked at me, got his stuff, and left the line. I mean really, can’t a gal have a simple conversation in private , nowadays? LOL

Believe in Yourself;

Luisa Doraz

22 Responses

  1. Perhaps he was afraid you were a Borg and planning to assimilate him … (I’m pretty sure Borg shop at Costco when they visit Earth.)

  2. Maybe he thought you were strange and talking to yourself!

  3. Those Bluetooths are a pain in the ass! I would look at you strange myself!

  4. don’t use one
    never will
    big hassle

  5. LUSIA, I WOULD HAVE STUCK MY TONGUE OUT AT YOU MADE FUNNY FACES AND WOULD HAVE DONE MY BEST TO MAKE YOU LAUGH WHILE YOU WAS ON THE PHONE JUST BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT I DO!

  6. You shoulda threatened to hurt him you crazy Italian!!!

  7. I still can’t get used to the blue tooth. Sometimes I’m not sure if the person on it is talking to themselves or to me. I don’t always see the earpiece so it can be a little spooky.

  8. You’ve sparked one of my pet peeves this morning and I’m trying to decide if I should keep my mouth shut or not. Well that’s hard for me!!! While your situation this time was serious, you were worried about your brother but nobody knew that. You said yourself that it was loud and you were talking loud. But you also said you were having a private conversation but it wasn’t private. Everyone anywhere near you was also hearing this conversation and I get so sick of listening to people on cell phones acting like we all care what they’re talking about. It happens all over the place. In restaurants and everywhere and anywhere that people feel like talking, they do and we have to listen to it. I’ve often felt like I was eavesdropping on people when in reality, I’m shopping or I’m out to eat or I’m trying something on in a dressing room. Then if you dare look at anyone, thinking are they nuts, they look at you like you did something wrong. Private means you are alone or are at least trying to be alone. But if you are talking in a line, in a busy store, it’s not private.

    BUT….this wasn’t the case “this time” with you. I feel this was an emergency but so many times innocent people are assaulted with some person gabbing away talking about things and at times, I feel they are infringing on my right to eat or shop without listening to them go on and on on their cell phone. If you have a call, walk away where nobody is or go out to your car or even to the bathroom but people shouldn’t have to listen to someone going on and on everywhere we go.

    This situation isn’t what I’m talking about though so please see that. This situation is what I feel cell phones are for but just like anything else, a few bad apples. But it happens far to often to people like me who just want to eat or shop in peace and this man, he may have thought you were talking to him and maybe he felt embarrassed or maybe he’s like me and is just sick of listening to people talk on the phone while out in public.

  9. TALKING TO ONESELF OR APPEARING TO DO SO WILL TURN OTHERS ATTENTION AND IRE TOWARDS US.
    BY THE WAY HOW IS HE DOING NOW.

    • My brother is having a situation with a wisdom tooth that may need to be pulled, but because of his recent episodes…they are looking into it carefully! Thanks for asking!

  10. I mean really, can’t a gal have a simple conversation in private , nowadays? LOL

    Joy, I was being sarcastic.
    I could not agree with you more!
    When I am out shopping, under normal circumstances, and someone calls me…unless an emergency…I do not talk to them! I think it is rude to the people around me and I need to focus on what I need to do! Emergency only…and calls from the hubby or kids!

  11. I suppose standing in queue isn’t really private then innit?

Leave a Reply

